Child Protection and Safeguarding Policies and Information

Child Protection and Safeguarding Policy September 2017-18

Safeguarding leaflet

Keeping Children Safe in Education – September 2016 (for Part 1)

e-safety policy 2017-18 (for review November 2018)

Key e-safety resources for parents Sept 2015

Recording of Images consent form

Whistleblowing Policy 2017 (for review May 2019)

Child Protection at St Benedict’s C of E VA Junior School – 2016/17

How to report a concern

If you have a concern about safety or welfare of a child, you should contact the Designated Safeguarding Lead (DSL). In the absence of the DSL, referrals may be made to the Deputy DSL or in his absence any member of the School Safeguarding Committee. If the concern involves the Headteacher, referrals must be made directly to the Chair of the Governing Body.

If, at any point, there is a risk of immediate serious harm to a child a referral should be made to children’s social care via Somerset Direct immediately. Anybody can make a referral.

Tel 0300 123 2224

Email: childrens@somerset.gov.uk  

 Designated Safeguarding Lead: Mr Steve Gumm, the Headteacher

Telephone (direct line): 01458 832261

email: sgumm@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Deputy Designated Safeguarding Lead: Mr Piers Ranger, Deputy Headteacher

Telephone: 01458 831811

email: pranger@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Members of the school safeguarding committee:

Ms Amanda Thorpe, PFSA, AThorpe@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Ms Jane Newbury, Learning Mentor JNewbury1@educ.somerset.gov.uk

Chair of the Governing Body: Mrs Mellie Leggett Telephone: 01458 831811

 Designated Child Protection Governor: Miss Helen Roper,

email: hroper1@educ.somerset.gov.uk

The role of the child protection governor is to oversee the school’s Child Protection policy, procedures and report to the full Governing Body as necessary but at least annually. A copy of the annual review will be sent to the local authority for monitoring purposes.

 Somerset Local Authority Designated Officer (LADO) Anthony Goble.

Initial contact should be made by calling Somerset Direct on 0300 123 2224 and the referral will be forwarded to him.