Chess notation

Capital letters are used for the major pieces:

Q = Queen, K = King, R = Rook, B = Bishop and N = Knight


Pawns are only known by the name of the square they are on;

eg e4


The following symbols are also used:-

x means ‘takes’;

eg N x f3 (Knight takes the pawn on square f3)

eg c3 x d4 (the pawn on square c3 takes the pawn on d4)


+ means ‘check’;

eg Q x Bb4+ (Queen takes the Bishop on square b4 and gives check)


++ means ‘checkmate;

eg Rh8 ++ (Rook goes to square h8 and gives checkmate)